Concours d’Lemons CA 2016 – Photos and “Winners”

This rolling train wreck of bad fortune and good ideas gone sour again sullied Laguna Grande Park in Seaside, check California, August 20, adding a lighter note to an otherwise serious weekend. When Ferraris are trading across town for seven figures, perhaps you need to check out something that simply makes all comers smile—like Michael Johnson’s jacked-up, woodie-trimmed 1972 Ford Squire wagon; Patti L. Crowder’s all-steel, witch-themed Model A; or Kevin Palmer’s perfectly mint 1976 Renault R16, a car that fully describes the word “tan.”

The coveted Worst in Show award went to Christopher Blizzard’s 1974 Brickin SV-1, a hodgepodge of questionable engineering, dubious racing pedigree and naughty words. Plus it wore a giant foam hat. 

This year’s shows attracted the biggest crowd to date, while the expanded judge’s roster included the likes of Bill Warner, creator of the Amelia Island Concours. 

Thanks to the generosity of Grassroots Motorsports magazine and Hagerty, both participants and spectators get to enjoy the show free of charge. Calypso Lemonades kept everyone hydrated this year. Before the show, the local geese ensured that the show field was suitably fertilized.�

Concours d’LeMons California 2016 results

Class Awards
Rust Belt American Junk (American cars)
Judges: Tim Suddard and Stefan Lombard
First place: Michael Johnson’s 1972 Ford Squire wagon
Second place: Jeff Walker’s 1968 Chevy Sportwagon

Unmitigated Gaul (French cars)
Judges: Jonathan Stein and Nigel Matthews
First place: Mark Maksimon’s 1988 Peugeot 505
Second place: Ken Nelson’s 1961 Panhard

Rueful Britannia (British cars)
Judges: Dick McClure and David Lillywhite
First place: Derek Tuttle’s 1965 Wolsley Hornet

Needlessly Complex Italian (Italian cars)
Judges: Alan Galbraith and Tim Suddard
First place: Roger Vandervert’s 2005 Vespa Ape Coffee Wagon
Second place: Ken Mitchell’s 1960 Vespa

Der Self-SatisfiedKrauttenWagen (German cars)
Judges: David S. Wallens and Bill Warner
First place: Randy Carlson’s 1959 Tempo Matador Camper
Second place: Wayne Carini’s Volkswagen Karmann Ghia

Soul-Sucking Japanese Appliance (Japanese cars)
Judges: Bret Schrader and Rene Thomas
First place: April Danyluk’s Nissan Altima
Second place: Gregory Birch’s 1992 Lexus

Swedish Meatballs (Swedish cars)
Judges: Abby Bassett and Nelson Ireson
First place: John Ramsden’s 1966 Volvo Wagon
Second place: Charles Goodman’s 1956 Volvo P1900

Warsaw Pact (Eastern Bloc countries)
Judges: Jason Cammisa and Tim McNair
First place: Larry and Janet King’s 1989 Yugo GVL

“Special” Awards�
WTF? Award: Josh Pendo’s 1994 Lincoln Limousine

Kitschiest Original: Mathew Morillo’s 1965 Chrysler New Yorker towing Coleman trailer

Most Dangerous Car: Freddie Fuentes’s 1974 MG Midget limousine

Dick Teague Award for best AMC product: Chris Denove’s 1975 AMC Pacer

The Double Turd Award: Marc Maksimow’s 1988 Peugeot towing another horrible Peugeot

Worst of Show: Chris Blizzard’s 1974 Bricklin SV-1